Safety Committee

The Safety Committee is one of FÍA's four Standing Committees. It operates on a professional level and deals with matters regarding the safety of pilots.

The Safety Committee is comprised of seven FÍA members that are appointed by the board of FÍA, but otherwise it operates independently. Each member of the Safety Committee has an obligation to maintain confidentiality regarding sensitive information they are made aware of in their work for the committee.

Safety Committee:

Ingvar Tryggvason, Chair
Björn Ásbjörnsson
Hjalti Grétarsson
Jón Hörður Jónsson
Kristján Jakobsson
Margrét Elín Arnarsdóttir
Walter Ehrat

Safety Committee email:

The Reykjavík Flight Safety Symposium

The Safety Committee organizes the annual Reykjavik Flight Safety Symposium. The next conference will be held on 24. September, 2021, and tickets will be sold online. The event is held in English, and admission fee is quite modest.

The event attracts, among others, air traffic controllers, pilots and people at administration level.