Safety Committee

The Safety Committee is one of FÍA's four Standing Committees. It operates on a professional level and deals with matters regarding the safety of pilots. The Safety Committee is comprised of six FÍA members that are appointed by the board of FÍA, but otherwise it operates independently. Each member of the Safety Committee has an obligation to maintain confidentiality regarding sensitive information they are made aware of in their work for the committee.

The Reykjavík Flight Safety Symposium

Every year The Icelandic Airline Pilots’ Association hosts the "The Reykjavik Flight Safety Symposium”, organized by the Safety Committee. It will next be held on 11. April 2019 at the Hilton Reykjavík Nordica, and tickets are sold at

All presentations and key discussions will be held in English. The event attracts among others air traffic controllers, pilots and people at administration level. Admission fee is kept moderate with an hour lunch buffet included.

Confirmed speakers are:

  • Ragnar Guðmundsson from RNSA
  • Marika Melin from Karolinska Institutet (medical university)
  • Steinarr Bragason from Icelandair
  • Graham Braithwaite from Cranfield
  • José-María Lorenzo from The European Satellite Services Provider (ESSP)
  • Kristín Sigurðardóttir M.D., from the University of Iceland

Recordings from previous years can be found here. Sponsors will be advertised providing recognition of their contribution. Further information will be provided by the FÍA office at 599 1199 or